Given by the Legal Profession Qualifying Board, Malaysia, the Certificate in Legal Practice is an examination that qualifies law students to obtain admission into the Malaysian Bar. Law graduates who pass the nine-month long preparatory courses through a private university and certificate examination given by the Legal Profession Qualifying Board will learn the skills they need to become a Solicitor or Advocate in the High Courts of Malaysia.

Held once per year, the certificate examination consists of five different papers. You must pass each paper in order to get your certificate. In the event you fail a paper, the Legal Profession Qualifying Board may give you a conditional pass, which will give you two more opportunities to retake and pass the failed paper. If you fail two or more exam papers, you must retake the entire exam. Each student is allowed four compete retakes.

The five papers of the certificate exam are:
• Civil Procedure;
• Criminal Procedure;
• Evidence;
• General;
• Professional Practice.

Throughout the five papers, you will be required to demonstrate your knowledge and practical application of civil procedures, criminal law and related procedural rules, admissibility of evidence, tort and contract law of Malaysia, professional ethics of the Malaysian legal field, probate law, land law and bankruptcy law. In addition, you must apply your analytical skills to hypothetical legal situations and draft a statement of claim.